Database Clean Up

Navision · Shopware · App

The Navision database only knows one direction: Grow! This behavior should (must!) be stopped once in a while.

By the way ... You can also delete data in the very old blue DOS Navision 3.56!

Why delete data in Navision?

There are good reasons for cleaning / compressing / shrinking a Navision database. And also for deleting data that is no longer required:

  • Search speed
    The fewer data sets Navision has to search, the faster searches or filters can produce a result. In the individual process at Navision, this often results in a barely noticeable delay or a tolerable few seconds per user. Overall, however, it slows the Business Central SQL Server down and delays the work flow for the whole company and for all employees again and again, noticeably or imperceptibly.
    It gets really annoying when you search for
    - the latest delivery note from Navision
    - the most recent order from Business Central
    - the last invoice from Business Solutions NAV
    --> Actually simply press CTRL + End and I'll be on the latest receipt. Not so if you format the document numbers according to years (LS99.12345), and then started e.g. in 1999. Then receipts that start with 99 ... block the view of the current receipts! Do not underestimate the search effort (time required) of your users! This can worsen the general Navision performance (working speed) even more than all other brakes in your SQL server!
  • Workflow
    Hundreds or even thousands of Navision documents (delivery notes, invoices, offers) that are no longer required or that are no longer required, and Business Central master data that are never required again, such as customers (debtors), suppliers (creditors), articles and G / L accounts, prevent the flow of work. Is Müller Schulze or Müller Schultze the right customer now? Oh, you picked the wrong one again ... And here, too, the performance of your employees suffers a lot more than short, often unnoticeable waiting times for the Navision SQL database.
  • Administrative time
    When reorganizing native Navision databases, optimizing keys in Business Central SQL databases, backing up data, restoring data, creating test environments, replicating database changes in high-availability systems: Gigabyte-by-gigabytes of unnecessary data are repeatedly overwhelmed by what is usually already chronically overloaded Network cables squashed. This also has an enormous impact on the performance of your data processing. Tape backups take longer and longer, hard drive backups take longer and more capacity. An unnecessarily large Navision (SQL) database or Business Central SQL database is also noticeable in pennies or Euros.
  • GDPR
    This point is practically always forgotten. The GDPR is a real minefield! Your statutory archiving obligation for the tax authorities (GDPdU) ends at the end of the 10th year after the last tax-relevant posting. If, for example, an invoice from December 31, 2010 is paid with a discount on January 2, 2011, the obligation to archive the payment expires on December 31, 2021. This means that the archiving obligation for the invoice and thus for the associated personal data also expires. You simply no longer have the right to save the personal data from this process! Either you remove the personal data from this receipt (invoice recipient, IP address ...) and all related receipts (delivery notes, shipping labels, goods statistics, seller invoices ...), or you simply delete all receipts at the latest after the archiving obligation has ended. I recommend deleting it completely because it also has the other advantages listed here.
  • Fiscal
    In fact, practically nobody knows: For the GDPdU (basic principles to access data and to check digital papers) you have to provide / output all data available in your Navision or Business Central 365 on request! Also, for example, invoice data for documents / processes in Business Central that are significantly older than 7 years for delivery notes or 10 years for invoices and other sales! Exception: You no longer have this data in stock. For this reason alone, you should observe a certain data hygiene in your Navision database.

Why not just simply delete data?

Unfortunately, in Navision / Business Central you cannot simply delete such a large amount of unnecessary data. There are ready-made routines for completed orders ("Delete completed orders"), the same for purchase orders ("Delete completed orders"). You can delete Navision offers and Business Central purchase inquiries directly via the tables very easily and quickly: Table 36 or 38: Run, set filter, mark all & with CTRL + a, delete. In the case of accounts receivable and articles, the associated item tables (21 accounts receivable items / customer ledger entry, 25 accounts payable items / vendor ledger entry, 32 item items / item ledger entry, 5802 value items / value entry) have unfortunately not been deleted for a long time. This is justified with the statistical continuity.

Also like to overlook: Table 405 Change Log Entry. Even small errors when setting up the change log are enough to literally flood the Navision / Business Central database with senseless data. In the course of my Navision programmer and consultancy days I have discovered a lot of systems in which the changelog has occupied 80% of a huge database - without any further use!

And cannot be influenced at all by “normal” users: 339 item adjustment items / Item Application Entry. In Navision versions before 2009 you don't need this table at all, you can completely remove its content with practically no consequences.

Depending on the Navision / Business Central version, some entries have to be deleted, but the other entries have to be compressed (compressed) in order not to damage (keep consistent) the G / L account balances or article inventories, for example.

How should you then clean up a Navision database?

I support you with tidying up / reducing / cleaning up your Navision database with the following processes:

  • Change of the program logic in your Navision or Business Central, so that item tables are really dismantled / removed / deleted during the following cleanups.
  • Dependent tables such as 379 Detailed customer items / Detailed Cust. Ledg. Entry and 380 Detailed Vendor Ledg. Entry with adjusted.
  • Offers older than 3 years, completed orders will be deleted. My routines go further than the standard Navision routines and recognize more jobs that have been completed. The same thing also happens in purchasing. Rule of thumb: Orders older than 2 years should no longer be delivered, they would rather cause irritation or laughter on the customer side ...
  • Purchase and sales delivery notes older than 7 years are automatically deleted. It is irrelevant whether they have already been printed or not. This means that you can finally find the latest Navision delivery note again immediately with CTRL + End without searching - if you have worked with number series such as L99xxxx, which previously prevented this.
  • Invoices older than 11 years will be deleted (you have an archiving obligation / GDPdU obligation for fiscally relevant movements for 10 years after the end of the posting period! This results in the 11 years). With this you can finally find the last / current posted invoice again immediately with CTRL + End - e.g. if you have worked with number series such as R99-xxxx, which previously prevented this.
  • Customer entries, accounts payable entries, general ledger entries older than 11 years are compressed. For this, the compression is corrected, depending on the Navision version. This also applies to the item entries, if your Navision still allows it. Otherwise, a lot of space is saved by actually deleting the item items and value items for items that are no longer relevant.
  • After the above consolidation, outdated (long unused) customers / suppliers / G / L accounts / articles including their items are removed from the database. For customers / suppliers / articles I assume 5 years. G / L accounts can of course only be deleted after the 11 years, if no or only compressed items are available for them.
  • When using the Microsoft SQL Server, the TransactionLOG is also checked. Unfortunately, there are still many system houses and / or hobby programmers who "back up" a Navision database (or more generally: an SQL database) by backing up the entire server, e.g. with Microsoft Backup or Veeam. Or back up the entire virtualized SQL server as a whole or - super intelligently - "incrementally". This is not a data backup for an MS-SQL database that is authorized or even recommended by Microsoft. No matter whether for Navision, Business Central or any other application on the SQL Server! If you then also set the recovery model to full (which is highly recommended for many reasons, e.g. for every 5 minute backups in high availability environments), the transaction log will fill up. No wonder: it is never emptied in a controlled manner! My personal record was a Navision database with 7 Gb user data (unadjusted) and 67 Gb transaction log. Then maybe this is no longer negligent, but maybe intentional!
  • When compressing for the first time, there is another test run (if necessary, several) so that you can see the result before I reduce your real data. The necessary programs then remain part of your database! In this way, if you want, I can clean up your database again regularly (annually) in the future.

What if that doesn't work for me?

In short: it usually fits, and (really) unnecessary fears are often in place. But of course every period, every master record, every deletion in Navision or Business Central 365 can be individually adapted to your needs.

How do I find out the biggest wastes of space?

In the native Navision up to version 2009R2 very simple: new form (page), table 2000000028 table information, preview (no need to save). Filter for size (KB)> 1000000 (1Gb, you don't usually have to deal with smaller tables).
Under MS-SQL (Navision and Business Central with the SQL Server) with this little script to query the table size:

USE Name-of-the-Navision-database
GO
SELECT TOP 50 
  used AS "Pages",
  rows AS "Saetze",
  (used * 8) / 1024 AS "MB",
  CAST(OBJECT_NAME(id) AS CHAR(100)) AS TableName
  FROM sysindexes WHERE indid IN(1,2,255) ORDER BY used DESC

The change log items are typically being displayed very high up here. Rule of thumb: Change log items should only be used on master data. E.g. on article master data (table 27), customer master (table 21), terms of payment, terms of delivery, etc.
The classic question that the change log should and can answer is like: "Who changed the number at Müller?" Or "Who changed the retail price for item 4711 from 6.90 to 5.80?". Standard Navision would only save "Changed on" and "Changed by" in a few different master data tables.
If you use the change log items incorrectly, e.g. to log transaction data, the change log will quickly burst at the seams, and with it your database.

The size of the transaction log can be found in the MSSMS under the properties of the respective database. There is no transaction log if you are working with the native Navision database up to version 20090R2. Rule of thumb: Transaction logs with a size over 1 Gb or a size> 2% of the user database are a sign of botch. This is not always true, e.g. the transaction log may have been inflated once during a major campaign and was then not reduced later. But this rule almost always fits. This is where the “used” or “used” information helps. In Navision up to 2009R2 you can also find the database sizes for the SQL Server under File / Database / Change.

Screenshot Navision/Business Central SQL Datenbank Datenbankgröße und Transactionlog Größe
Query Navision / Business Central SQL database database size and transaction log size
Screenshot vom Aufruf der SQL_Datenbank Informationen unter Navision 2009R2
Selecting the SQL database information under Navision 2009R2

Anzeige der Datenbankgröße einer MS-SQL Datenbank unter Navision 2009R2
Display database size of an MS-SQL database under Navision 2009R2
Screenshot Transactionlog einer MS-SQL Datenbank unter Navision 2009R2
Display of the transaction log size of an MS-SQL database under Navision 2009R2

Shrink the database files

After the deletion, there is often more than 50% "air" in the database files.

With the native database (Classic Client), no more than 15-20% empty space should be active. The smaller the database, the faster and more compact the HotCopy data backups are (this makes no difference with the logical one). The empty space should of course not be TOO little, since the database will grow again.

With the SQL database, Navision or the SQL database server can itself expand the Navision database files or the transaction log files if necessary. Therefore, these can be reduced to the lower limit. Here, too, the reduction in size ensures faster and more compact data backups. Defragmenting the indexes (Index Defrag) is part of every database downsizing! But in a clean Navision database you already have periodic processes for rebuilding the indices (index update) and the associated index defrag (defragmentation of the indices).

Please never activate the option “Automatically reduce size”! This option is absolutely counterproductive! With this option, your database is very heavily fragmented - it is literally "tattered" (shredded). The indices (keys) can be defragmented to such an extent that the SQL server does not need to use them!

If the database is on magnetic hard drives (I have only been recommending SSDs since 2008), the effective data access of Navision or Business Central also accelerates with smaller (scaled-down) database files, since the hard drive heads now have to cover shorter distances. Don't forget "Defrag" 🙂. Whereby more sins of setup (Raid5, several database parts on one disk, transaction log not on a separate disk ...) cause a slowed down Dynamics NAV / Navision / Business Central with a miserable performance. Practically no Navision programmer (or Business Central administrator or even any other database guru) understood why the new, ultra-modern 15,000 rpm hard drive with 120 Gbytes was introduced when new, faster and larger magnetic hard drives were introduced was soooo much slower than the 3 ancient 2 Gb HD's with 5,400 rpm…. With the native database server under Navision, 5 or 6 ancient HDDs could still be orders of magnitude faster than fewer / an ultra-modern hard drive. That was related to the table structure. But basically this behavior applies to every database process (keyword I/O Performance).

How often should you shrink the database?

Here it is not said: "A lot helps a lot". Annual downsizing and defragmentation as part of data hygiene is usually sufficient. Exception: Real bullshit has been made in your database, e.g. in connection with the changelog (change log items) or the transaction log. Then the downsizing (shrinking) and the index defragmentation belong to the repair tasks.

Data Clean Up Process

Sepcifically, the process is as follows:

  1. Change the program logic so that when master data is deleted, the associated items are also deleted (and not just on the account number "empty").
  2. Print a SuSa SK, Deb, Kred, print stock assessment.
  3. Get compression for general ledger entries (98), customer ledger entries (198), vendor ledger entries (398) and, if still possible, the item ledger.
  4. Let inventory adjustment run (alternatively: adapt code so that unregulated items are ignored).
  5. Clarify what should happen to unposted article book sheet lines (-> Delete).
  6. Adjust (delete horizon) & call of the (new) function "Delete old data".

Datenbank bereinigen

Navision · Shopware · App

Die Navision-Datenbank kennt nur eine Richtung: Wachsen! Diesem Verhalten sollte (muss!) man aber auch einmal Einhalt gebieten.

Übrigens… Auch im ganz altem blauen DOS Navision 3.56 können Sie Daten löschen!

Warum Daten in Navision löschen?

Es gibt gute Gründe dafür, eine Navision-Datenbank zu bereinigen / komprimieren / verkleinern. Und auch zum Löschen nicht mehr benötigter Daten:

  • Suchgeschwindigkeit
    Je weniger Datensätze Navision durchsuchen muss, desto schneller können Suchen oder Filter ein Ergebnis liefern. Das macht in dem einzelnen Vorgang bei Navision pro Benutzer oft eine kaum erkennbare Verzögerung oder tolerierbare wenige Sekunden. Insgesamt aber bremst es den Business Central SQL Server insgesamt aus und verzögert für die ganze Firma, für alle Mitarbeiter immer wieder merklich oder unmerklich den Arbeitsfluss.
    Richtig nervig wird es, wenn man
    -den neuesten Lieferschein aus Navision
    -die aktuellste Bestellung aus Business Central
    -Die letzte Rechnung von Business Solutions NAV
    sucht: Eigentlich einfach nur STRG+Ende, und ich stehe auf dem neuesten Beleg. Nicht so, wenn man die Belegnummern nach Jahren formatiert (LS99.12345), und dann z.B. in 1999 angefangen hat. Dann versperren Belege, welche mit 99… anfangen, den Blick auf die aktuellen Belege! Unterschätzen sie den dabei anfallenden Suchaufwand (Zeitaufwand) Ihrer Anwender nicht! Dies kann die allgemeine Navision-Performance (Arbeitsgeschwindigkeit) noch wesentlich mehr verschlechtern als alle andere Bremsen in Ihrem SQL-Server!
  • Arbeitsfluss
    Hunderte oder gar tausende von nicht mehr / nie mehr benötigten Navision-Belegen (Lieferscheine, Rechnungen, Angebote) und nie wieder benötigten Business Central Stammdaten wie Kunden (Debitoren), Lieferanten (Kreditoren), Artikel und Sachkonten hindern den Arbeitsfluss. Ist jetzt der Müller Schulze oder der Müller Schultze der richtige Kunde? Ach, schon wieder den falschen ausgewählt… Und auch hier leidet die Performance ihrer Mitarbeiter viel mehr als durch kurze, oft nicht bemerkbare Wartezeiten auf die Navision-SQL-Datenbank.
  • Verwaltungszeit
    Bei Datenbank-reorganisationen von nativen Navision Datenbanken, beim Schlüssel optimieren von Business Central SQL-Datenbanken, bei Datensicherungen, Datenwiederherstellungen, Erstellen von Testumgebungen, replizieren von Datenbankänderungen bei Hochverfügbarkeitssystemen: Immer wieder werden Gigabyte-weise unnötige Daten über die meist eh schon chronisch überlasteten Netzwerkleitungen gequetscht. Auch das drückt die Performance ihrer Datenverarbeitung ganz enorm. Bandsicherungen brauchen immer länger, Festplattensicherungen immer mehr Kapazität. So macht sich eine unnötig große Navision (SQL) Datenbank oder Business Central SQL Datenbank auch in Heller und Pfennig bzw. Euro bemerkbar.
  • DSGVO
    Dieser Punkt wird praktisch immer vergessen. Ihre gesetzliche Archivierungspflicht für die Finanzbehörden (GDPdU) endet mit Ablauf des 10.Jahres nach der letzten steuerlich relevanten Buchung. Wird z.B. eine Rechnung vom 31.12.2010 am 2.1.2011 mit Skonto bezahlt, so läuft die Archivierungspflicht der Zahlung mit dem 31.12.2021 ab. Damit läuft auch die Archivierungspflicht für die Rechnung, und damit für die damit verbundenen personengebundenen Daten ab. Sie haben schlicht kein Recht mehr diesen Beleg mit den Personendaten weiter zu speichern! Entweder sie entfernen die Personendaten aus diesem Beleg (Rechnungsempfänger, IP-Adresse…) und allen damit verbundenen Belegen (Lieferscheine, Versandaufkleber, Warenstatistik, Verkäuferabrechnungen…), oder Sie löschen schlicht alle Belege spätestens nach Ende der Archivierungspflicht.
  • Fiskalisch
    Tatsächlich auch praktisch niemanden bekannt: Für die GdPdU müssen Sie -auf Anforderung- alle in ihrem Navision oder Business Central bereit stehenden Daten bereit stellen/ausgeben! Auch z.B. Rechnungsdaten zu Belegen/Vorgängen in Business Central, welche deutlich älter als 7 Jahre bei Lieferscheinen oder 10 Jahren bei Rechnungen und anderen Umsätzen sind! Ausnahme: Sie haben diese Daten nicht mehr vorrätig. Schon alleine aus diesem Grund sollten Sie eine gewisse Datenhygiene in ihrer Navision-Datenbank beachten.

Warum nicht einfach Daten löschen?

Leider können Sie in Navision/Business Central nicht einfach so eine große Menge nicht mehr benötigter Daten löschen. Für erledigte Aufträge gibt es noch fertige Routinen („Erledigte Aufträge löschen“), das gleiche für Einkaufsbestellungen („Erledigte Bestellungen löschen“). Navision Angebote und Business Central Einkauf Anfragen können Sie noch direkt über die Tabellen recht einfach und schnell löschen: Tabelle 36 bzw. 38: Run, Filter setzen, alle markieren & mit STRG+a, Löschen. Bei Debitoren & Artikeln werden die zugehörigen Postentabellen (21 Debitorenposten/Cust. Ledger Entry, 25 Kreditorenposten/Vendor Ledger Entry, 32 Artikelposten/Item Ledger Entry, 5802 Wertposten/Value Entry) leider schon lange nicht mehr mitgelöscht. Dies wird mit der Statistik-Kontinuität begründet.

Auch gerne übersehen: Tabelle 405 Änderungsprotokollposten/Change Log Entry. Hier genügen schon kleine Fehler bei der Einrichtung des Änderungsprotokolls, um die Navision/Business Central Datenbank mit sinnlosen Daten regelrecht zu fluten. Ich habe im laufe meiner Navision Programmierer und Beraterzeit wirklich viele Systeme entdeckt, bei denen das Changelog mal eben 80% einer Riesendatenbank beelgt hat – ganz ohne weitere Verwendung!

Und von „Normalen“ Anwendern gar nicht beeinflussbar: 339 Artikelausgleichsposten/Item Application Entry. In Navisionversionen vor 2009 braucht man diese Tabelle gar nicht, man kann ihren Inhalt praktisch folgenlos komplett entfernen.

Je nach Navision/Business Central Version müssen die einen Einträge gelöscht, die anderen Einträge aber komprimiert (verdichtet) werden, um z.B. die Sachkontensalden oder Artikelbestände nicht zu beschädigen (konsistent zu halten).

Wie denn dann eine Navision-Datenbank bereinigen?

Ich unterstütze Sie beim Aufräumen/Verkleinern/Bereinigen Ihrer Navision-Datenbank mit folgenden Vorgängen:

  • Änderung der Programmlogik in ihrem Navision / Business Central, damit auch Postentabellen bei den folgenden Bereinigungen wirklich abgebaut werden.
  • Dabei werden auch abhängige Tabellen wie z.B. 379 Detaillierte Debitorenposten / Detailed Cust. Ledg. Entry und 380 Detaillierte Kreditorenposten / Detailed Vendor Ledg. Entry mit bereinigt.
  • Angebote älter 3 Jahren, erledigte Aufträge werden gelöscht. Dabei gehen meine Routinen weiter als die Standard-Navision Routinen und erkennen mehr erledigte Aufträge. Das gleiche findet auch im Einkauf statt. Faustformel: Aufträge älter als 2 Jahre sollten nicht mehr geliefert werden, sie würden eher für Irritationen oder Lacher auf Kundenseite sorgen…
  • Einkauf- und Verkauf Lieferscheine älter 7 Jahre werden automatisiert gelöscht, dabei ist es irrelevant ob Sie schon gedruckt wurden oder nicht. Hierdurch können Sie dann auch endlich wieder mit STRG+Ende sofort und ohne Suchen wieder den neuesten Navision-Lieferschein finden – wenn Sie z.B. mit Nummernserien wie L99xxxx gearbeitet haben, die das bisher verhinderten.
  • Rechnungen älter 11 Jahre werden gelöscht (Sie haben eine Archivierungspflicht / GdPdU-Pflicht für fiskalisch relevante Bewegungen für 10 Jahre nach Abschluss der Buchungsperiode! Daraus ergeben sich die 11 Jahre). Hiermit können Sie dann auch endlich wieder mit STRG+Ende sofort wieder die letzte/aktuellste gebuchte Rechnung finden – wenn Sie z.B. mit Nummernserien wie R99-xxxx gearbeitet haben, die das bisher verhinderten.
  • Debitorenposten, Kreditorenposten, Sachposten älter 11 Jahre werden komprimiert. Dafür wird, je nach Navision-version, die Komprimierung korrigiert. Dies gilt auch für die Artikelposten, wenn Ihr Navision das noch zulässt. Ansonsten wird aber auch schon über die echte Löschung der Artikelposten und Wertposten bei nicht mehr relevanten Artikeln viel Platz gespart.
  • Nach den obigen Verdichtungen werden veraltete (lange nicht genutzte) Kunden/Lieferanten/Sachkonten/Artikel ebenfalls inkl. ihrer Posten aus der Datenbank entfernt. Bei Kunden/Lieferanten/Artikeln gehe ich dabei von 5 Jahren aus. Sachkonten können natürlich erst nach den 11 Jahren gelöscht werden, wenn also keine oder nur komprimierte Posten dazu vorhanden sind.
  • Beim Einsatz des Microsoft SQL Servers kommt noch die Überprüfung des TransactionLOG hinzu. Es gibt -leider- noch immer viele Systemhäuser und/oder Hobbyprogrammierer, die eine Navision-Datenbank (oder genereller: Eine SQL-Datenbank) „Sichern“, indem sie den ganzen Server, z.B. mit dem Microsoft Backup oder mit Veeam sichern. Oder den kompletten virtualisierten SQL Server als ganzes oder -super intelligent- „inkrementell“ sichern. Das ist keine von Microsoft autorisierte oder auch nur empfehlenswerte Datensicherung für eine MS-SQL-Datenbank. Ganz egal ob für Navision, Business Central oder jede andere Applikation auf dem SQL Server! Wenn man dann auch noch das Wiederherstellungsmodel auf Vollständig stellt (was aus vielen Gründen durchaus empfehlenswert ist, z.B. für alle 5 Minuten-Backups in Hochverfügbarkeitsumgebungen), dann läuft einem das Transaction-Log voll. Kein Wunder: Es wird ja nie kontrolliert geleert! Mein persönlicher Rekord war eine Navision-Datenbank mit 7 Gb Nutzdaten (unbereinigt) und 67 Gb Transaction-Log. Das ist dann vielleicht schon nicht mehr fahrlässig, sondern vielleicht Vorsatz!

Und wenn das bei mir so nicht passt?

In Kurz: In aller Regel passt das, und (wirklich) unnötige Befürchtungen sind schlicht fehl am Platz. Aber natürlich kann jeder Zeitraum, jeder Stammsatz, jede Löschung individuell an ihren Bedarf angepasst werden.

Wie finde ich die größten Platzverschwender heraus?

Im nativen Navision bis Version 2009R2 ganz einfach: neue Form (Page), Table 2000000028 Tabelleninformation / Table Information, Preview (Speichern nicht nötig). filtern auf Größe (KB) > 1000000 (1Gb, mit kleineren Tabellen muss man sich in der Regel nicht beschäftigen).
Unter MS-SQL (Navision / Business Central mit dem SQL Server) mit diesem kleinen Script zur Abfrage der Tabellengröße:

USE Name-Der-Navision-Datenbank
GO
SELECT TOP 50 
  used AS "Pages",
  rows AS "Saetze",
  (used * 8) / 1024 AS "MB",
  CAST(OBJECT_NAME(id) AS CHAR(100)) AS Table
  FROM sysindexes WHERE indid IN(1,2,255) ORDER BY used DESC

Die Größe des Transaction-Logs findet man im MSSMS unter den Eigenschaften der jeweiligen Datenbank. Faustformel: Transaction-Logs mit einer Größe über 1 Gb oder einer Größe > 2 % der Nutzdatenbank sind ein Zeichen von Pfusch. Das stimmt nicht immer, z.B. kann das Transactionlog auch einmal bei einer größeren Aktion aufgebläht worden sein, und wurde dann später nicht reduziert. Aber so gut wie immer. Hier hilft dann die „Used“ oder „Genutzt“ Information weiter. In Navision bis 2009R2 findet man die Datenbankgrößen für den SQL Server auch noch unter Datei/Datenbank/Ändern.

Screenshot Navision/Business Central SQL Datenbank Datenbankgröße und Transactionlog Größe
Abfrage Navision/Business Central SQL Datenbank Datenbankgröße und Transactionlog Größe
Screenshot vom Aufruf der SQL_Datenbank Informationen unter Navision 2009R2
Aufrufen der SQL_Datenbank Informationen unter Navision 2009R2

Anzeige der Datenbankgröße einer MS-SQL Datenbank unter Navision 2009R2
Anzeige Datenbankgröße einer MS-SQL Datenbank unter Navision 2009R2
Screenshot Transactionlog einer MS-SQL Datenbank unter Navision 2009R2
Anzeige der Transactionlog Größe einer MS-SQL Datenbank unter Navision 2009R2

Verkleinern der Datenbank-Dateien

Nach den Löschaktionen sind in den Datenbank Dateien oft mehr als 50% „Luft“.

Bei der Nativen Datenbank sollte nicht mehr als 15-20% leerer Platz aktiv sein. Je kleiner die Datenbank ist, desto schneller und kompakter sind die HotCopy Datensicherungen (Bei der logischen macht dies keinen Unterschied). Der Leere Platz sollte natürlich auch nicht ZU wenig sein, da die Datenbank ja wieder wachsen wird.

Bei der SQL-Datenbank kann Navision bzw. der SQL-Datenbankserver selber bei Bedarf die Navision Datenbankdateien oder die Transaction-Log Dateien erweitern. Daher können diese ruhig bis an das untere Limit verkleinert werden. Auch hier sorgt die Verkleinerung für schnellere und kompaktere Datensicherungen. Das Defragmentieren der der Indzies (Index Defrag) gehört u jeder Datenbankverkleinerung dazu! Aber in einer sauberen Navision-Datenbank haben Sie ohnehin periodische Prozesse zum Rebuild der Indizes (Index-Aktualisierung) und damit verbunden einen Index-Defrag (Defragmentieren der Indizes).

Aktivieren Sie bitte niemals die Option „Automatisch verkleinern“! Diese Option ist absolut Kontraproduktiv! Durch diese Option wird ihre Datenbank sehr stark fragmentiert – sie wird regelrecht „zerfleddert“ (zerfetzt)., die Indizes (Schlüssel) können dabei so stark defragmentiert werden das der SQL-Server auf deren Verwendung verzichtet!

Liegt die Datenbank auf Magnetfestplatten (Ich empfehle seit 2008 nur noch SSD’s), so beschleunigt sich bei kleineren (verkleinerten) Datenbankdateien auch der effektive Datenzugriff von Navision oder Business Central, da die Festplattenköpfe nun kürzere Wege zurück legen müssen. „Defrag“ nicht vergessen 🙂 . Wobei hier eher Einrichtungssünden (Raid5, mehrere Datenbankteile auf einer Platte, Transactionlog nicht auf einer separaten Platte…) für ein gebremstes Dynamics NAV/Navision/Business Central mit einer miserablen Performance sorgen. Praktisch kein Navision-Programmierer (oder Business Central Verwalter oder auch jeder andere Datenbank-Guru) hat damals, beim Einführen neuer und schnellerer und größerer Magnetfestplatten (So um das Jahr 2000 rum) verstanden warum die neue, ultramoderne 15.000er Festplatte mit 120 Gbyte soooo viel langsamer war als die 3 uralten 2 Gb HD’s mit 5.400 U/Min…. Bei dem Nativen Datenbankserver unter Navision konnten 5 oder 6 uralt HDD’s noch um Größenordnungen schneller sein als weniger/eine ultramoderne Fesxtplatte. Das hing mit den Tabellenaufbauten zusammen. Aber grundsätzlich gilt dieses Verhalten für jeden Datenbankprozess (Stichwort I/O Durchsatz).

Wie oft sollte man die Datenbank verkleinern?

Hier heist es nicht: „Viel hilf viel“. Die jährliche Verkleinerung und Defragmentierung im Rahmen der Datenhygiene reicht normalerweise aus. Ausnahme: In Ihrer Datenbank wurde echter Bockmist, z.B. im Zusammenhang mit dem Changelog (Änderungsprotokollposten) oder dem Transactionlog gemacht. Dann gehört das verkleinern (shrinken) und das Index-defragmentieren zu den Reparaturaufgaben dazu.

Ablauf der Datenbereinigung

Konkret sieht der Ablauf wie folgt aus:

  1. Ändern der Programmlogik, so das beim Löschen von Stammdaten auch die zugehörigen Posten gelöscht (und nicht nur auf Kontonummer „Leer“ werden.
  2. Drucken einer SuSa SK, Deb, Kred, Druck Lagerbewertung
  3. Aufrufen der Komprimierung für Sachposten (98), Debitorenposten (198), Kreditorenposten (398) und, wenn noch möglich, der Artikelposten.
  4. Lagerregulierung laufen lassen (Alternativ: Code anpassen das unregulierte Posten ignoriert werden)
  5. Klären was mit ungebuchten Artikelbuchblattzeilen passieren soll (-> Löschen)
  6. Anpassen (Lösch-Horizont) & Aufruf der (neuen) Funktion „Alte Daten löschen“